Board index DeFRaG How to DeFRaG

Good Maps For Newbies?

Users helping users.

Good Maps For Newbies?

Postby Leaf » May 13th, '10, 7:14 pm

Hi,

I just started playing defrag a few months ago. I used to play QW, then recently started playing Quake Live, and after playing a few QL defrag maps, I started playing vq3 defrag. I've been following the dfwc. I've completed all the maps except for round 4.

I'd appreciate if someone could recommend maps that help with a specific skill. I'm thinking of maps like elco-aga, where you have to do a rl-to-pg trick at the start (which I cannot do). Thanks.
Leaf

Re: Good Maps For Newbies?

Postby ally is a cheater » May 13th, '10, 7:24 pm

hm..icepoint :p
ally is a cheater

Postby 742617000027 » May 13th, '10, 7:51 pm

I'd suggest playing online as much as you can. If you can't do certain parts of a map, spectate other players and simply try to copy what they are doing. If this doesn't help, switch to another server and try again later. Or you could train the different techniques on freestyle maps. That's how I learned to do things, but it's less fun playing for yourself. There are a lot of friendly people on the servers that are willing to help every newcomer :)

If you want to go with the freestyle map learning method, check out the amt-freestyle maps. They contain a lot of training rooms. For strafe pads, you might want to practice on bliss-beta2a, although there could be other maps with pads that are better calculated, don't know.

Postby 2laat? » May 13th, '10, 11:06 pm

the only bacchus i know is playing promode. and he is a pal of pushpabon, poub, and mew guys. if i'm not mistaken..

anyway, i would suggest you to try cmc03, 04, 05 mappacks
2laat?

Postby Leaf » May 14th, '10, 12:44 pm