Board index DeFRaG Mapping

Question - Sky shader light generation

Maps and the process of creating them

Question - Sky shader light generation

Postby springy » Aug 5th, '20, 12:52 am

I've noticed that wherever there is a sky texture, it will generate light from ALL sky shaders being used anywhere in the map.

Example of problem:
Say you have a red sky, a blue sky, and a green sky all in one map but in completely separate rooms... You compile the map, and all three rooms have red blue and green light.

My goal is to use different sky textures in separate rooms and have each sky only give its own light to the room.

I've messed around with custom shaders a little bit with no luck, but I am a shader noob.

Does anybody know a solution?
TY
springy

Re: Question - Sky shader light generation

Postby <)Ghost(> » Aug 5th, '20, 1:42 am

youre gonna have to create a new shader for each skybox with different lighting you want to use. Use DFWC2012-3 for example. in this specific area im using the same skybox
shot0584.jpg
but 2 different shaders for it, just to project the light in a certain direction. in the screenshot the one on the right is the custom shader.

Code: Select all
//changed q3map_sun settings from original mp_midnight skybox

textures/ghost-dfwc11/mp_midnight
{
   qer_editorimage env/mp_midnight/midnight-silence_ft.tga
   surfaceparm noimpact
   surfaceparm nolightmap
   q3map_globaltexture
   q3map_lightsubdivide 256
   q3map_surfacelight 200
   surfaceparm sky
   q3map_sun 1 1 1 250 270 50
   skyparms env/mp_midnight/midnight-silence - -
}

the original shader projects the sun straight down, i tweaked it so that its at an angle. i suggest you read the q3map(2?) shader manual. someone correct me its been years since ive done this. you can also adjust every other aspect of the sun itself. i think this should be obvious but you shouldnt be putting a huge box around the map.

:whistle: